Weening/tapering off of alcohol

So, this is the deal: I already hold two serious addictions in methadone and benzodiazepines and 1 lesser addiction in quetiapine (low dose to help me sleep).  All these are prescribed to me which is wonderful in the sense that my life-destroying (not talking only about myself; my parents had to sell our house because of my habit) opiate habit got controlled.

Methadone is supposed to be pretty harsh for your liver though, and on top of that 10-12 beers a day is starting to be morbid to say the least… Feeling one’s liver ache should wake one up, right? Right… I just ignore it.

I’m just wondering if it’s possible to ween/taper off of alcohol, first down to a low amount (just to keep delirium tremens away) and later to zero. Start off by reducing one or two cans per week or something like that until one is down to… say, 4 cans of beer a day.  I would like to avoid detox facility until I’ve tried to control my alcoholism myself. Not holding too much hope but I would like to… well, I HAVE TO try. I think I have only a limited time in this life if I don’t remove this fucking alcoholism which I hate, but still I have to drink. Or get fucked up in other ways, like pregabalin (Lyrica) or speed, albeit very very rarely.

Cannabis is something I wouldn’t give up. It’s just too good. 🙂 Anyway, another monologue which I probably have forgotten about come tomorrow. But hey…

About ekhowl

Music-loving slouch.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

